The team of People’s Republic of China

2018 june 12.

Coach: Gapsoo Kim


Key Player: Zhou Mengxue (Left Back)


Qualification for Hungary 2018: Runners-up, 2017 AHF Asian Women's Junior Championship


History in Tournament: 1977: DNP, 1979: DNP, 1981: 6th, 1983: 13th, 1985: 6th, 1987: 7th, 1989: 6th, 1991: 10th, 1993: 15th, 1995: 17th, 1997: 14th, 1999: 10th, 2001: 17th, 2003: 16th, 2005: 13th, 2008: DNQ, 2010: 17th, 2012: 22nd, 2014: 19th, 2016: 18th




Despite missing just one of the IHF Women’s Junior (U20) World Championships since becoming a member of the International Handball Federation in 1980, PR of China have only finished outside of the top ten teams this millennium.


However, with the experienced Gapsoo Kim at the reins, anything seems possible. Korean coach Kim has coached women’s handball in China for many years, including the senior national team, which he led to the 2005 IHF Women’s World Championship in Russia, and club side Jiangsu this season.


PR of China qualified for Hungary 2018 thanks to a runners-up spot at the 2017 AHF Asian Women’s Junior Championship in Hong Kong last July – but will face regional rivals Republic of Korea in Hungary, who beat them 41:25 in the championship. However, Kim can take solace from a strong 26:24 victory over Japan which showed a mental strength and will to win, which he will need to harness in Debrecen.


18-year-old left back Zhou Mengxue was picked by former China senior coach Jesper Holmris for the 2017 IHF Women’s World Championship in Germany, and despite playing under 30 minutes across seven games, the 1,75m player will bring some much-needed experience to the squad who start with a tough opener against youth world champions Russia before taking on Asian rivals Korea, Chile, Iceland and Slovenia.



Follow the China Handball Federation on their website


Group at Hungary 2018


Group B: Russia, PR of China, Republic of Korea, Chile, Slovenia, Iceland


Games at Hungary 2018

Monday 2 July: RUS-CHN (16:00)

Tuesday 3 July: CHN-KOR (16:00)

Thursday 5 July: CHN-CHI (14:00)

Friday 6 July: ISL-CHN (20:00)

Sunday 8 July: SLO-CHN (12:00)